Rocking Chair Redo

7 Nov

I bought this rocking chair off of www.bismanonline.com a couple years ago. I went to buy a tall dresser for our bedroom shortly after Ryan and I married, and the seller had this chair, as well. A mission-style rocking chair. Not in the best shape, but it had great structure and was very sturdy. No creaking or squeaking!

The chair sat in our garage for at least a year and a half before I finally got around to doing something with it. I knew that I wanted a darker stain on this chair, and obviously the upholstery (real leather, I presume) was in terrible shape – tears and duct tape. Yikes.

I started tearing off the leather and realized that the springs underneath were not salvageable, so off they went! Then I sanded it down. This is the skeleton I was left with: 

Not too bad! I was pretty excited about this stripped down version of the chair. I stained it a dark walnut.

I don’t have pictures of this part, but I had Ryan cut a board out of plywood for the new seat. I bought some 3 or 4-inch foam at the fabric store, added it to the board, then covered it with a couple layers of batting. Then I upholstered the cushion and the back and added the tacks.

The final product!

I was pretty excited about it. It lives in our middle bedroom for now…

Lessons learned…upholstering was surprisingly easy. The key is to keep it simple. A board and some foam? Easy to upholster. Second lesson – upholstery tacks. Never again. They were terrible to get evenly spaced because they kept bending when I nailed them in. So, so frustrating to work with. Lesson learned. 🙂

Leave a Reply

