Dresser Refresher

14 Nov

I have been doing a lot of rotating furniture from one room to another. Not sure where everything will eventually end up…I’m always changing my mind. I have had this dresser for probably 10 or 12 years, and before that it lived in my older sister’s room when we were younger. So, I’d say that it’s somewhere around 24 years old!

This dresser was originally purchased unfinished, and my mom put it together and painted it cream. It lasted a long time like this! However, the knots started showing through over the years (How does that happen anyway? Is it sap or something?). Anyway, not only that, but the top was looking a little worse for wear after so many years of scratches, candle stains, and who knows what else.

I figured it was high time to give this guy a new look and move it from one guest bedroom to another. Just cuz. 🙂

So, what I did first was put some very low-chemical paint stripper on the top and let it sit for about 24 hours. After I scraped as much off as possible, I sanded it down using an electric sander. I was left with this:

Then I stained the top with a dark walnut.

I’d like to put my lessons learned at the end of each blog, but in this case I learned my lesson partway through the project. After I put one coat of stain on, I noticed that I hadn’t sanded it down far enough and some of the deep veins still showed cream paint. See, the bare wood was about the same color as the paint, so it was hard to see if I sanded it down enough until after I stained it. So…I sanded it down again. Ugh. There’s not much more to say except that it was awful! Sand, sand and sand some more.

After round two of stain was done, I sealed the top with a couple of coats of polycrylic. I did a bit of light sanding on the rest of the dresser and painted it white. I drilled some new holes and added some new hardware and…tada! Refreshed…

2 Responses to “Dresser Refresher”

  1. Jason November 24, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    Looks good! Very nicely written and easy to understand. Keep up the good work!

    • Sarah November 26, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

      My first comment! Thanks for that. 🙂 Hope to get a new post tomorrow or Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

