At the End of My Rope – My Jaunt with Jute

17 Jan

I have a confession to make. All of my projects, as you will soon realize, are not big, grand room repaints, furniture redos, or bathroom renovations. I do have a full time job, outside-of-work extra-curricular activities like Civic Chorus and city league volleyball, and just general stuff like going to Zumba, kickboxing, etc. However, my “projects,” as we call them in our house, are my hobby. I make time for them because I love to create things! But I often only have time for little, crafty things. They may not be as exciting, but they’re still fun…like this one…

Ahhh, jute. I lurve this twine-like string. Wikipedia defines it as “a long, soft, shiny vegetable fiber that can be spun into coarse, strong threads.” Wikipedia – so smart! I call it my good friend that can make even the most underwhelming piece of would-be garbage into a brand-new, lovely décor item! I bought my jute at Hobby Lobby awhile back because I saw on Pinterest the most awesome beer bottles-turned-vases made with – what else? – jute. I had the perfect shelves to put these bottles on, so I bought my a roll of jute for about five bucks or so, instructed my husband to save three beer bottles, and made these! IMG_0748 Cute, right? I added some fake magnolias (I think) and they now live in one of our spare bedrooms. They were super-easy – all you need is a glue gun to work with jute. The problem? I couldn’t stop…

I found an unused vase and made it into this for our guest bedroom: IMG_0752 This was a bigger vase, and I already had these bamboo sticks that I threw in. Instant décor! But it doesn’t stop there…I was becoming addicted to covering things with jute. Nothing was safe anymore…

I made the following mirror from two pieces of cardboard cut in a circle and glued together for thickness. I just glued a small mirror that I bought from Hobby Lobby for another project and never used (it was only a couple bucks) and added jute from there.IMG_0749See? That’s the back (made from a Shutterfly box): IMG_0750 I marveled at my creativity! “Look at how it ties in with the jute beer bottles,” I thought. IMG_0751 But did I stop there? Nope. No I did not. My logic was, if a little bit of jute is good, more must be better. Plus, I still had jute left, so heck…might as well find something else to wrap. Our newly finished hallway outside our newly finished bathroom was looking so empty… IMG_0746 I figured, “Hey – this jute-covered item is on an entirely different floor than the other ones, so one more won’t hurt…” What finally broke my addiction? Was it willpower? Was it the realization that if I kept covering things with jute, our house would start looking ridiculous? No. I’m just almost out of jute. IMG_0756 It’s all for the best…otherwise we’d probably end up having jute-covered cats. Anyway, you probably have some old, unused vases or empty beer or wine bottles of your own. You, too, can have your own jute addiction! Just get your jute, hot glue gun and item to cover, plop yourself in front of the TV and go to town! Here are a few tips that I’ve learned:

1. Find something you wouldn’t mind covering – it doesn’t matter if it’s a bold color. You shouldn’t see the color underneath because your jute should be nice and dense.IMG_0504

2. Start at the skinny end of your item. Trust me on this one. It’s much easier to go from the thin end to the wide end, because the jute tends to slip down if you start from the wide end. I went back at the end to cover the inside of the neck so people can’t see the purple.IMG_0505

3. You’ll need more glue at the beginning, but once you start getting to the wider part, you’ll need less. Just keep winding. IMG_0506

I hope this inspired some of you to think outside the box when it comes to items you might otherwise throw away, donate or stuff away in a cupboard, unused. I’d love to hear from you. Have you covered anything with jute? Do you have any other ideas for things to cover? I’m all ears…

Sigh. An addict is never truly cured.

IMG_0788

Leave a Reply

